I feel you, New York

I am back to New York, finally.
I pulled myself out of the couch, and smacked myself into the bed.
It felt comfortable. It felt like home.

I probably never missed New York so badly before.
I hastened my breath to breathe in more fresh air.
I couldn’t wait to log onto facebook.
I could check wenxuecity and all the other gossips again.
I went to Chipotle three times this week.
I can use my credit card to pay my cabs now!

I’m looking at playbill for new Broadway shows again.
I’m watching Lie to Me, Gossip Girl and Big Bang Theory on PPStreem again.
I’m back on track with my daily routine (getting off from work at 11pm)
And my office phone had 16 messages for the period I was gone, and 28 missed calls.
And I have 3 client meetings, 2 final pitch calls, 2 monthly reports and an annual questionnaire this week.

And I am thrilled.
I rushed out of my apartment this morning and walked swiftly cross-town to the subway on 28th street, oh the cool breeze.
It was so refreshing.

I had a new hairstyle.
Some people think it makes me took older, some other people think it makes me look younger.
I came out of our 52nd street office and smiled at L across the street.
He said, you look different. You look like a VP.

I’m not sure if that’s a compliment but I took it as one anyway:
I’d rather that I look like a VP when I am an analyst;
And I still look like a VP when I’m a MD.
L probably didn’t get it. But it doesn’t matter.

I have a whole series of events lining up for the weekend.
I can’t wait.

 

  1. Yuqing Deng
    October 26, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    What is MD? To me this is Medical Doctor.

    To me New York is something else, under all the noise there is tranqulitiy and peace. I am returning to a journey where I began in New York. No, I do not plan to finish the degree in Classics but ofer my silent presence to the people who appreciate it.

  2. October 27, 2010 at 10:57 am

    This was an absolute love letter to NYC. What a joy to read! It made me so happy for you, and made me wish I could live in New York for a while just to get that wonderful feel for it.

  3. November 4, 2010 at 1:23 am

    This is a really good read for me, Must admit that you are one of the best bloggers I ever saw.Thanks for posting this informative article.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

