Home > Communication, Discover People, Live Well Live Wisely, Self-Improvement > “I don’t worry about anything”

“I don’t worry about anything”

I HAD MY 8-HOUR LONG training on presentation skills yesterday. It was dreadful. They video tape you, and then tear you apart. But then they teach you how to improve with your voice, tone, gesture, posture, notes, slides, how to address hop topics or answer “I don’t know” questions, and even how to stand, where to look, how to raise your arm and point with your hand, and much more.

At the end of the day, everyone was super exhausted, but everyone was happy. Everyone saw significant improvement from one taping to another, and everyone got much more comfortable with the key message they are trying to convey and how to make it as effective as possible. And secretly I was especially happy because my friend at another finance firm told me his training on presentation skills was a disaster, which apparently involved jumping around and almost making a fool of himself in front of 20 some people, while for our training/taping sessions, we only had 3 participants.

But I came in to the training session, expecting it was going to be the most embarrassing and dreadful day of my career. Yes I am a client-facing person to start with, but still, if Presentation/Public Speaking is on TOP of the “10 things people are most afraid of” list (FYI, Snake and Spider are also on the list), this should be of no surprise and I’m sure I was not the only one who wish I was not there that morning, in the beginning at least.

Just think about all the things you were so afraid that would happen turned out not to happen, and all the things you were so afraid that would happen did happen but they don’t bother you anymore, and all the things you were so afraid that would happen did happen but they were not that bad after all.

I know it’s hard but it might worth trying not to be so afraid to start with.

Then it struck me this morning when I was walking into the office kitchen to get some coffee. One of my colleagues was talking about her cousin’s wedding, and some weird and tiny lady almost sinking into her wheelchair. But when the music started, she would stand up, like everyone else, and then she would start dancing. People would be watching her but she didn’t care.

I got curious: who are you talking about if I may ask?

My colleague said: she’s my mother in-law’s mother in-law. She is 93 years old. I know everyone was so amazed. I couldn’t help so I asked her what’s your secret.

And she said: I don’t worry about anything.

Amazing. Period.

  1. December 10, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Holy cow, this is profound. You wipe me out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

