Be Vulnerable, Be Seen

THIS IS THE BEST TALK I’ve seen for years, and I wish these were the kind of things that could be taught at school. But no, most people are still seeking and struggling. I am hoping to share this with you because I believe this talk really gets to the core of how we are human, how we reflect our own values and worthiness through communications with each other, and provides a new perspective on how we love and live.

To resonate with Professor Brown’s insight on the fact that the people with the most sense of love and belonging are usually those who embrace their vulnerability and view vulnerability as nothing else but a necessity, I do want to say from my own experience and my friends’ stories, I came to realize something surprising and fundamental, yet so true: you are happier if you say I love you first, you are happier if you initiate a conversation first, you are happier if you are the one who have the courage to commit and contribute without even thinking about whether or not this will work out.

Exactly through these efforts that may or may not work out, you see your value and worthiness. You love first and then you find a place for your heart in this world.

This is enlightening. But what this talk failed to address is: if being vulnerable can make people happy, why very few people do it? The thing is: you will get hurt. And you get hurt for once, and twice, and you don’t want to get hurt again. So you hide yourself, you “numb”, and then you lost the sense of love and belonging, and there you start this vicious cycle.

Can you be vulnerable and at the same time not afraid of getting hurt?

This is an age that we can frame anything, and we can change every perspective by changing our own attitude. Courage by the original definition means: to tell the story of who you are with your whole heart.

I wish we could all embrace vunterability and be true to your heart and be authentic with each other.

I wish it is that easy. It’s  probably not, but it worths a try.

  1. December 10, 2010 at 11:30 am

    I cannot believe this. In a mysterious and beautiful action of what a friend calls “serendestiny,” I watched this piece after writing my blog this morning on my feelings of unworthiness as they relate to my weight (www.EtiquetteDog.com, “Living in the Right Now”). What Dr. Brown says here is a powerful underscoring of what I am reading by Geneen Roth in her book, *Women Food and God.” You now have me following Brene Brown . . . I am in awe of how things come to us when we are ready for them.

  2. December 25, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    This absolutely floored me. I was so moved . . . I cannot stop thinking about it. I have been struggling with something along the lines Brene Brown speaks about and this was like an answer to prayer. Thank you for this excellent post!

    • January 4, 2011 at 7:44 pm

      Sue I’m glad you enjoyed this post/video as much as I did. Yes Dr. Brown is amazing and she provoked us to think deep into the human nature and through the journey of life. She talked in a subtle, touching, sometimes funny, yet very effective way. I agree that she’s a story teller, but she is definitely more than that 🙂

  1. December 8, 2010 at 4:43 am

Leave a Reply

