Best of 2010, and Preview of 2011

I have kept blogs in a variety of places before and this is the first and only time the website sent me a stats summary with such details for the bygone year. For the constant thrive to optimize user experience and the degree of dedication, I want to first thank WordPress for offering me, and many other bloggers in this world, an intimate place to pursue our passions, to share our curiosities, and to develop a legacy. 

I also want to take the opportunity to appreciate every one of you who has stopped by my blog over the past year. For those who have commented on my posts, cheered for me on my facebook walls, left a message to me on LinkedIn and Gtalk, followed me on Google Reader, or mentioned my blog to me face-to-face, I want to thank you for being my constant motivation and inspiration. Your encouragement means the world to me.

Started in mid-April 2010, the blog had 70 new posts and was viewed about 21,000 times over the course of 2010. Not bad for the first year I have to say. Thanks for sharing this with me.

Here are my Top Posts of the Year:

.

10. This is the kind of email I WILL respond to!

This was an introduction email on career opportunity that I have been waiting for. As I know most people are still struggling on how to effectively network and communicate, I figured it was a good idea to share the email and my interpretation with you. 

.

9. What does an interviewer really want to know?

I wrote a series of articles on resume writing and interview preparation. This is one of the posts with most views and I believe there is a reason for it.

.

8. Client Communication: Defend Passionately

This was one of my first posts on asset management and client communication (the industry I am in right now). If you are a young/fresh graduate a few years ago you probably wouldn’t know what Account Management means, but I hope you do now with the changing landscape of the finance industry both on the sell-side and the buy-side.

.

7. Attracted to someone who already has a girlfriend (boyfriend)

This was the sister post of my other article on relationship which also came on top of my list. To write this post I did much research on the internet and also “investigated” a few of my friends. If you are one of those struggling, hope it will help you a little bit.

.

6. Why Did You Leave Your Previous Job?

This is probably the most challenging yet very important question that could ever occur in an interview regardless of the title of the position. Articulating experiences that are not entirely favorable and bridging gaps in-between your jobs are powerful skills. They can make it or break it.

.

5. At some point, you just need to stop trying

When I was a kid I valued persistency and it was on top of my values. But later on I realized it is always case by case and in many occasions persistency will only hurt you or even damage the subtle relationship you currently have. It is hard to pull the “stop” trigger but I learned the hard way. I hope you don’t have to.

.

4. The Relocation Decision: It is Not About The Job

This is one of the most intriguing posts I wrote over the past year and I was delighted that the topic provoked much debate and new perspectives. You might not agree with what I am saying but I am hoping to guide you to think deep into the roots of why you make such decisions, and I am happy that you let me.

.

3. Things I wish I knew when I was at College

The original article was written 2 years ago though I refreshed certain use of language. The same was posted on a few of my other previous blogs and it was by far one of my most-read of all times. I recently wrote another article in a similar fashion as an attempt to continue this legacy of story-telling and wisdom sharing.

Top 8 Things I learned in 2010 (Part I)

Top 8 Things I learned in 2010 (Part II)

.

2. Already in a relationship but attracted to someone else

It was no surprise this article came nearly on top. But originally I was surprised that I got so many views everyday on this post and the very topic contributed to 8 out of 10 searches that directed the reader to my blog on a daily basis, just as an example. This reminds me of why they added the “relationship status” tab on facebook (I’m sure you watched the Social Network already). Sometimes I do wonder though, what else do people care about aside form relationships?!

.

1. If you are uncertain about your relationship right now…

To be honest I’m not sure if this post deserves the highest attention but what I can say is that StumbleUpon contributed a lot to what has happened. This was the very first blog I put onto that website and April 27, 2010 was still my busiest day of the year with more than 1,200 views on this article alone.

.

Looking into 2011

To put it in one sentence: “I am excited, and a little bit scared too”. But isn’t this what life is all about? Adventure, adventure it is. I think it is going to be a challenging yet interesting year to me, given potential career and personal changes that are simply typical for people our age. I also look to travel more, explore the world, and embrace new perspectives brought by different cultures. 

I am glad that you are here with me so I can continue to share with you. Please comment below if there is anything I can write about in the New Year and will make life better for you.

Join me, and let’s cheer for the New Year!

  1. January 5, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    Before jumping off to your job interview, make sure you have been prepared and set for it. A job interview preparation is necessary for every applicant.There are a few things you need to consider for that big day – personal grooming, character, promptness and ethics. learn more:

    employment tips

    • January 20, 2011 at 10:26 pm

      interesting article and good advice too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

