Home > Communication, Discover People, Live Well Live Wisely, Reading, Self-Improvement > Good ways to spend your Monday Holiday

Good ways to spend your Monday Holiday

My New Year was off to a rocky start. I lost my phone; my new phone didn’t arrive one week after I lost my old one; and I was sick for more than a week. But then I realized it’s probably a good time to say to yourself: things will only get better. It was like how I entered the financial industry. It was great timing as a matter of fact, it was 2 months before Lehman went down. Yes, things will only get better. They always do.
 
And my turnaround came yesterday when I felt much better both physically and mentally. And it was a Monday and a holiday, so what did I do?
 
 
Read something new, or finish up your old book
My friend suggested me a good cafe close to where I live. It was a cozy place, has its own library and serves amazing almond tea. I have been reading this book on “difficult conversations” by people who live and breathe difficult conversations both in a business context and a personal context at HBS. It was a good read, it provided a good learning opportunity to me and although I’m still half way through the book, I can see myself applying some of the strategies and perceptions to my day-to-day work which very much involves challenging communications one way or another. I was quite efficient with my reading that afternoon and my friend also finished up his reading on Russian history (the collapse of Soviet Union and the people involved). Just a few hours digging into the pages and the very scent of words and stories can make a huge difference on how fulfilled you feel about your day. Try it. Try it again.
 
Have potentially deep and inspiring conversations
I want to admit that it’s hard to have deep and inspiring conversations these days. Deep conversations require longer time commitment, a stronger common interest, and genuine curiosity into the mentality of each other. We rarely set our minds on the above these days, given the busy city life, given the media mass communication that hardly motivates us to dig deep into the drive of how we live the way we live today and how we become who we are, and given sometimes we are scared. We are scared to get too much into the messy worlds of other people as if we are opening up another Pandora Box, and we got used to hiding ourselves behind a computer screen and even to some extend enjoy the level of distance in our day-to-day interaction. You may not agree with me immediately but come to think about it, for those people you can introduce as your “friend”, does it just mean you hang out with each other a lot, or it actually means we know a lot about each other as a person. There is no right or wrong, and sometimes you might even choose NOT to have a deep conversation in order to focus on other important things in your life, and simply give more space, freedom, and respect to other people.
 
But when you DO have an opportunity to have a deep conversation and you feel engaged, intrigued and inspired by what is being discussed (and it’s apparent to you that the other person feels the same way); that’s a binding moment right there. We don’t experience such moments very often these days, so when you do, it would be a shame if you just let that moment go. And chances are, you will be AMAZED by what you are to discover about the other person, and sometimes, yourself too!
 
Eat healthy, and for a good reason
I wasn’t aware your diet is closely related to how much sleep you need, how energetic you would feel during the day, and even how often you would get sick. I have always perceived food as an experience for the eyes, the nose, the mouth and maybe the stomach. And as much as I pay attention to my health and “shape”, I don’t really want to check “calories” on the back of the label every time I go to the grocery store, and for God’s sake, I LOVE meat. But yesterday, thanks to my friend, I realized food goes far beyond fitness, how much muscle you build up, or even whether you care that much about animals. It’s about the life style you choose, it’s about what you what to achieve in life, and even, who you want to be. I think it’s very hard and demands a lot of discipline to really stick to an extremely healthy diet, and I have many doubts on whether I should even try to challenge myself with a 80/20 (80% of the meals no diary, no meat, no gluten, 20% whatever you want). But what I do realize is that being simply conscious about what you take into your body (as such your “system”) CAN make a difference and ultimately help you to make smarter choices in managing your concerns with health and priorities in life.
 
Personally I’m very happy how I spent my holiday doing nothing else but the three things above. What do you think?
 
I want to ask you how did you spend your Monday holiday, and I want to challenge you how would you spend your next one?
 
  1. January 19, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    I think your twitter is compromised again. I think it’s because of your secret question.

    • January 20, 2011 at 10:12 pm

      thanks for the reminder, I think I finally got it fixed, sorry for the inconvenience.

  2. Sandy Zhu
    January 22, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Spending time on ourselves is one of the most luxurious things we can do in our life nowadays. Sometimes I feel like I will do better if I slow down and think more. (but other times I feel like I should just get to work already!lol!) Good for you that you had a good Monday holiday! =)

    • January 24, 2011 at 10:07 pm

      Yeah I agree. maintain a good balance is always the best way to go I guess. There are definitely times I need to rush around and focus on getting things done, but there are other times I have the luxury to think more, strategize and prioritize. There’s nothing wrong with going with the flow, whatever works for you at the moment is usually the best option anyway 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

